You are here

Previous Beeby recipients

2020Maria Perreau, Tom Roa, Bronwyn Wood, and Joanne Wait

The 2020 Beeby Award was granted to a group of educators, researchers and academics from across the North Island. He Whatu Rangatahiwill be a resource that will provide support, skills, strategies and inspiration to equip young people and their communities to effectively take part in a variety of transformative democratic processes.

2018—Pip Arnold

The 2018 Beeby Award was awarded to mathematics and statistics educator Dr Pip Arnold. Dr Arnold’s winning proposal is for a resource to support statistics teaching and learning in the New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa.  

2016—Katie Fitzpatrick and Kat Wells

Associate Professor Katie Fitzpatrick from the University of Auckland and Kat Wells  from Lynfield College, Auckland were co-recipients of the 2016 Fellowship.  They  worked with a team of authors to produce Mental health education and hauora: Teaching interpersonal skills, resilience and wellbeing, a practical teaching resource for students in Years 7 to 11.

2014—Jessie Pirini

Jessie Pirini was the 2014 Beeby Fellow. Jessie has  conducted a 3-year research project on the interactive aspects of tutoring and has trained hundreds of tutors. He used the Fellowship to produce Peer tutoring: A training and facilitation guide, a practical guide built on experience and strongly linked to the research literature.

2012—Caroline Yoon

Caroline Yoon from the University of Auckland was the 2012 Beeby Fellow. She worked on the publication of five Model Eliciting Activities (MEAs), which are mathematical activities designed to help students to develop and communicate a mathematical model to solve meaningful, real world problems. You can find out more about the LEMMA series here.

2010—Faye Parkhill

The AVAILLL programme: Using popular film subtitles to enhance literacy outcomes for youth offenders

2009—Samuel Mann

The 2009 Beeby fellow was Otago Polytechnic Associate Professor Samuel Mann. He used the fellowship to produce a book The Green Graduate which is intended as a resource for institutions and academics interested in education for sustainability. It documents a number of case studies from the polytechnic’s experience of moving towards sustainability.  “It’s for academics from any discipline who understand a bit about sustainability, but who haven’t taken the step of integrating some degree of education for sustainability into their teaching. I want to show them how relevant it is and how easy can be," Dr Mann said.

2007—Deborah Fraser

Deborah Fraser of the University of Waikato was the 2007 recipient of the Beeby Fellowship. Dr Fraser used the fellowship to produce resources on the teaching of the arts, aimed at general primary teachers, Enhancing Learning in the Arts: A Professional Development resource. The idea grew out of research project she led along with two colleagues, Graham Price and Clare Henderson, and in collaboration with teachers in ten primary schools. Undertaken as part of a Government-funded Teaching and Learning Research Initiative, it explored how the arts are taught in New Zealand primary schools and gave the teachers the opportunity to question their practice and experiment with alternative methods.

2005—Jannie van Hees

Janie is the project director of the Oral Literacy and Learning Initiative within the Faculty of Education, University of Auckland. A major part of her work was with teachers in low to mid decile schools, mainly in Auckland and Hamilton, on pedagogical approaches to help students with their linguistic and cognitive development. During her fellowship she worked on producing a book, Expanding Oral Language in the Classroom, which was published by NZCER Press in 2007. She has also embarked on a Doctor of Education degree at the University of Auckland.

2003—Jedd Bartlett

Jedd plans to develop a resource for schools setting out the integrated studies programme he has spent three years co-ordinating at Kuranui College, Greytown. The programme is called Base 6, after its six key features: active learning through inquiry, independent student-centred learning, authentic contexts, collaborative learning, ICT-enhanced learning, building connections to family and community.
Read about and order Jedd's book, Developing independent learners

2002—Anne Sturgess

Anne is assistant principal at Hamilton Boys' High School, was the 2002 Beeby Fellow. Her project was based on a programme already in place at the school. Based on a wide range of current approaches to the teaching of thinking, it helps Year 9 (third form) students to develop essential thinking strategies and skills, such as planning, organisation, time management, and motivation.
Read about and order Anne's book, Future thinking

2000—Neil Potter

Neil was a Year 10 team leader and head of science at Tweedsmiur Junior High School in Invercargill. He also worked at Cargill High School where he set up a team teaching unit for Year 9 and 10 students in 1995.  
Read about and order Neil's book, Looking Forward to teaching:A team approach.

1999—Cheryl Doig

Cheryl was principal of Richmond Primary School in Christchurch. Her work in developing behaviour management programmes attracted funding from a number of sources and created wide community interest. She is a sought after speaker at many conferences. Cheryl was chair of the Canterbury Principals' Association and, while holding the Beeby Fellowship, worked with the Education Review Office (ERO). 
Read about and order Cheryl's book, Quality the Richmond Way: Developing a successful behaviour management programme.

1998—Maureen Wilson

Maureen, formerly principal of Auckland Girls Grammar School, has been involved in many areas of education. She has taught mainly in secondary schools, with a brief period as a primary school teacher. She has also worked for the Auckland College of Education, and the Department of Education. She was a Senior Fellow in Education at Massey University, and a member of the Women's Advisory Committee on Education in the 1980s. 
Read about and order Maureen's book, Making it Happen.