You are here

Education studies in Aotearoa New Zealand: Key disciplines and emerging directions

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the core disciplines, and contemporary concerns, that inform the study of education in Aotearoa. As a collection, the work provides a critical account of education policy trajectories and speculates on their limits and possibilities in the changing social and political landscape of Aotearoa New Zealand in the first half of the 21st century.

The work has two aims. First, to serve as an introductory text for students in initial teacher education and other education programmes. Secondly, to be a resource for practitioners, policy makers, administrators and other stakeholders seeking to update their knowledge of the disciplines that comprise education studies, and their application in the current environment. It builds on the premise detailed in the Introduction: that all educational theory—in Aotearoa and beyond—must be understood and applied with due regard to personal, historical, and global context.

International customers

This book is also available from Amazon


Annelies Kamp is Associate Professor of Leadership and Head of School, Educational Studies and Leadership at the University of Canterbury | Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha. Born in Wellington, she has lived in Aotearoa, Australia, and the Republic of Ireland. Her research interests focus on collaborative leadership in the context of education, critical youth studies, and contemporary social theory.


Associate Professor Jane Abbiss
Associate Professor Cheryl Brown
Distinguished Professor Niki Davis
William Eulatth Vidal
Professor Letitia Hochstrasser Fickel
Associate Professor Jo Fletcher
Associate Professor John Freeman-Moir
Dr Myron Friesen
Associate Professor Annelies Kamp
Associate Professor Susan Lovett
Professor Angus Macfarlane
Dr Sonja Macfarlane
Associate Professor Julie Mackey
Dr Trish McMenamin
Dr Rachel Martin
Associate Professor Billy O’Steen
Dr Veronica O’Toole
Professor Peter Roberts
Associate Professor Mistilina Sato
Dr David Small
Dr Valerie Sotardi
Dr Christoph Teschers